Sam's Japanese Journey: Day 24 — Casual Mode Activated
A Secret Mode I Should Have Known About#
Every sentence I've practiced for the last 24 days has had two versions. The polite form on top, the casual form below. I've been dutifully studying the polite versions -- です, ます, ました -- because that's what you use with strangers, at shops, with anyone you're trying not to offend. Standard operating procedure.
But today, practicing family descriptions, I finally looked at the casual forms closely. And I mean REALLY looked. And something clicked so hard I actually said "wait" out loud to my empty apartment.
です becomes だ. ます becomes the dictionary form. ました becomes た. It's like Japanese has a cheat code where you strip off the polite endings and get a leaner, faster version of every sentence. And suddenly every single anime character I've ever watched makes sense. They've been speaking casual this entire time. That's why the Japanese I hear in shows never sounds like the Japanese in my textbook -- Luffy doesn't say 食べます. He says 食べる. Anya doesn't say 好きです. She says 好き.
Twenty-four days in and I'm only NOW realizing that I've had access to two registers this whole time. It's like finding out your controller has a second set of buttons you never mapped.
Mochi meowed at me while I was having this revelation. Casual form, obviously. Mochi has never used the polite register in her life.
Mom Is in the Kitchen#
First sentence: "My mother is in the kitchen." Polite version: 母は台所にいます. I know this pattern. は marks the topic (Mom), に marks the location (kitchen), います means "exists" for living things.
But the casual version? 母は台所にいる. Just... いる. No ます. The verb stripped bare to its dictionary form. It's shorter. Quicker. It sounds like something a character in a slice-of-life anime would say to their sibling.
I typed the polite version first (correctly -- 台所 is a new word but I got the reading right as だいどころ). Then I looked at the casual version and said it out loud. 母は台所にいる. It rolls off the tongue differently. Less formal, more natural, more like how I'd actually talk to someone I'm comfortable with.
My mother is in the kitchen.
母は台所にいます。
母は台所にいる。
I called my actual mom to practice. Not to say this sentence to her -- she's not in any kitchen I can see -- but just to hear her voice while I was thinking about family vocab. She asked what I was up to. I said "studying Japanese." She said "Still?" I said "Always." She said she was proud of me, which was unexpected and made my eyes do a thing I'm choosing not to describe.
Big Brother Energy#
"My older brother is a university student." 兄は大学生です. Short, clean, no tricky particles. Just は doing its normal wide-shot topic-marking job and です confirming what he is.
I got this right, then immediately looked at the casual form: 兄は大学生だ. There it is. だ. The casual version of です. Two characters instead of two. It sounds decisive. Final. Like dropping the mic after a statement. "My brother? University student." Done.
My older brother is a university student.
兄は大学生です。
兄は大学生だ。
I'm building up a family vocabulary here that's going to be useful at the convention. If someone asks me about my family (which is a common icebreaker in Japanese, apparently), I want to be able to rattle off a few facts without stammering. 兄は大学生です for polite conversation. 兄は大学生だ for when I'm comfortable. Two modes. Two registers. One Sam who finally knows both.
Kind Sister Saves the Day#
Last sentence: "My older sister is kind." 姉は優しいです. Another clean は + い-adjective + です structure. I'm noticing that family descriptions all follow the same template: [family member] は [description] です. It's like a character bio card in a game. Name, class, stats.
I got this right, then practiced the casual version: 姉は優しい. Drop the です. The い-adjective just stands on its own. And it sounds... natural. Like the way a real person would talk about their sister. Not stiff, not textbook-y, just honest.
My older sister is kind.
姉は優しいです。
姉は優しい。
I made a chart in my notebook:
- です → だ (for nouns and na-adjectives)
- い-adjective + です → just the い-adjective alone
- ます → dictionary form (食べます → 食べる)
- ました → た form (食べました → 食べた)
Four rules. That's it. Four transformations and suddenly I have access to an entire second register of Japanese. It's not a different language -- it's the same language with the formality stripped off. Like the difference between a work email and a text to your best friend. Same content, different packaging.
Rebuilding#
Streak counter says 1 today. Yesterday was zero. Today is one. Tomorrow will be two. The number goes up because I keep showing up, and I keep showing up because the convention is six days away and I refuse to walk into SakuraCon without being able to hold a basic conversation.
The cosplay is almost done. The earrings are painted. The wig is perfect. And now I have casual forms, which means I can talk to people my age at the cosplay meetup without sounding like a textbook. 趣味はコスプレだ, not 趣味はコスプレです. It's a small difference in syllables but a huge difference in vibe.
Kenji will appreciate this too. Next time we get ramen, I'm going casual. 美味しい, not 美味しいです. Short. Punchy. Like how friends actually talk.
I rewatched one episode of Bocchi the Rock! tonight with fresh ears. Now that I know what casual forms sound like, I can hear them everywhere. Every single character is using the casual register because they're friends talking to each other. Twenty-four days ago, their speech was a wall of incomprehensible sound. Now it's a wall of incomprehensible sound with occasional windows of clarity. Progress.
Day 24 Stats
Key Takeaway