Sam's Japanese Journey: Day 23 — Convention Countdown: T-7
The Streak Is Dead#
I have to write this down because if I don't, I'll pretend it didn't happen.
My streak broke.
Twenty-two days. Twenty-two consecutive days of practice, logged, tracked, celebrated. Gone. Reset to zero. Because I was sewing until 2am.
Here's what happened. The convention is one week away. ONE WEEK. And my Yor Forger cosplay is not finished. The dress is done, the tights are ordered, the wig is styled, but the spiked hair accessories need hand-sewing and the earrings need painting and I got so deep into craft mode that when I finally looked at my phone, it was 2:47am and the practice window had closed at midnight.
I sat on my bedroom floor surrounded by fabric scraps and gold paint, staring at the broken streak counter, and felt something I can only describe as grief. Which is dramatic. I know it's dramatic. It's a number in an app. But that number represented something. Twenty-two days of showing up. Twenty-two days of choosing Japanese over sleep, over comfort, over the voice in my head that kept saying "you'll never use this."
Mochi found me in this state and climbed into my lap. She purred, which in cat language probably means "get over it" but which I chose to interpret as "there, there."
Getting Back to Work#
I let myself mope for exactly one cup of coffee this morning. Then I opened the app, looked at the zero where twenty-two used to be, and started my sentences.
Because here's what I realized while feeling sorry for myself: the streak was a tool, not a trophy. The point was never to have a number next to my name. The point was to learn Japanese well enough to use it at SakuraCon. And that goal doesn't change because I missed one day. The 66 sentences I've practiced didn't un-learn themselves. My brain didn't purge は and が overnight. The knowledge is still there. The streak counter is a scoreboard, and I was confusing the scoreboard with the game.
I wrote that in The Graveyard notebook. Not a grammar concept this time -- a mindset. Page 7, right after the entry where は/が nearly destroyed me on Day 12: "The streak died on Day 23. It was 22 days old. Cause of death: Yor Forger's spiked accessories. It lived a good life, but it was never the point."
What Do You Want to Drink?#
First sentence today, and the app doesn't care about my feelings. "What do you want to drink?"
I looked at this and thought: convention scenario. Someone at a Japanese food stall, asking me what I want. This is a sentence I might actually hear in seven days. I need to get it right.
I tried: "何を飲みたいですか." And... I got it right. 何 (what), を (object marker), 飲みたい (want to drink), ですか (polite question). The たい form for wanting is one of those patterns that clicked early and stayed clicked.
What do you want to drink?
何を飲みたいですか。
何を飲みたい?
I can answer this question too. お茶を飲みたいです. I want to drink tea. Or: コーラを飲みたいです. I want to drink cola. The pattern is a template that I can plug anything into. This is the payoff of 23 days of grinding -- the grammar patterns are becoming tools I can recombine, not just fixed sentences I've memorized.
Something Cold#
"I want to drink something cold." A natural follow-up. And this one has が in a place that made me pause.
冷たい物が飲みたいです. The が is marking 冷たい物 (cold thing) as what I want to drink. Not は. This confused me for a second until I ran the camera metaphor: the close-up is on the THING I want. "A cold thing [zoom in, spotlight] is what I want to drink." The desire is pointed at a specific kind of thing, so が focuses on it.
I initially wrote "冷たい物を飲みたいです" with を instead of が. Both are actually possible, but the が version emphasizes WHAT you want -- the cold-thing-ness of it. It's a subtle distinction, the kind of thing I wouldn't have even noticed two weeks ago.
I want to drink something cold.
冷たい物が飲みたいです。
冷たい物が飲みたい。
I practiced this one three times out loud because April in Seattle is unpredictable. Could be sunny and warm at the convention, could be pouring rain. If it's warm and someone offers me a drink, I want to smoothly say 冷たい物が飲みたいです instead of pointing at a cooler and grunting.
The Perfect Wide-Shot/Close-Up#
Last sentence: "My younger brother likes sweets." And this is another beautiful は/が double feature.
弟は甘い物が好きです. Let me parse this with the camera. 弟は -- "As for my younger brother" -- wide shot, establishing who we're talking about. 甘い物が -- "sweet things" -- close-up, zooming in on what he likes. 好きです -- "likes." Perfect. Textbook. The camera pushes in from the topic to the focus.
I don't actually have a younger brother, but the structure is what matters. I could swap in any topic and any preference: 友達はコーヒーが好きです. 母は料理が上手です. The は/が framework scales to any "someone [topic] something [focus] description" sentence.
My younger brother likes sweets.
弟は甘い物が好きです。
弟は甘い物が好きだ。
That's three sentences today. The streak says Day 1 now, but my brain says Day 23. And 69 sentences says I'm not starting over -- I'm continuing.
T-7 and Counting#
Seven days. The cosplay is 80% done. The Japanese is... 0.23% done if you go by FSI hours, but functionally more like "enough to not embarrass myself at basic interactions." I can greet people. I can introduce myself. I can talk about my hobbies. I can almost order food (working on this). I can describe things as cheap or expensive. I can say what hurts. I can tell you what I want to drink.
Is that fluency? Absolutely not. Is it enough for SakuraCon? I think it might be.
Tonight I'm finishing the earrings and going to bed at a reasonable hour. The streak rebuilds starting now. One day at a time. いち日ずつ.
Day 23 Stats
Key Takeaway